All About that Bass

So I’ve been on Pinterest lately, surprised? And something has been really bothering me – everyone is pinning these super cute looks, yet what makes them cute is that they’re on these impossibly perfect girls. Where dem real girls at?!

IMG_7224

Because you know it’s all about that bass, bout that bass, no treble…

I say that but I don’t really have any bass, I’m pretty average. Though I heard that Brazilian butt workout can do wonders….

But I do want to say this first, it’s ok if you’re treble, (if treble in fact means slender, I’m assuming at this point) in fact, it’s great – it’s beautiful! And every body type faces its own challenges.

I’m just wanting to shout out to those who are pinning those perfect girls in their perfectly fitting clothing – not all of those are going to look great on everyone. Style is all about finding what works best for your body – and maybe paying a few bucks to the tailor. Don’t try to be someone else, it shows. Every woman has beauty, and almost everyone has imperfections, and it’s ok!

We must learn to love those pieces of beauty and the imperfections…. though maybe camouflage some of those imperfections with some well placed darts and draping.

I challenge you today to pick 3-5 things you love about your body. It can be anything.

I’ll go first:

1. My legs

2. My eyebrows

3. My shoulders

4. Something that is too inappropriate to mention on the internet.

YOUR TURN!

Then, your next challenge is to find ways to highlight those things you love.  If it’s your eyes, wear colors that make them pop. If its your legs, wear short skirts.  If it is your neck, wear clothes with a high neckline.  It is not that difficult to figure out once you have identified what you want to highlight.

Use your style to be more confident and be yourself!

Here are some other bloggers who have real bodies and great style:

Kendi Everyday

Putting Me Together

Brilliance of B

Leave a Reply

