JEANS.

I might not be the best person to talk about jeans, because well, I always get them from the same place.  Jeans are funny because, they are a very personal thing.  Everyone is very particular about it.  Similar to how particular we are about our coffee.  Sometimes we want it right when we wake up, or we wait to drink it until we get to work.  Some of us go to Starbucks, some of us can’t stand Starbucks.  Some like it black, some of us, *cough* me *cough* like it with large amounts of sugary creamer.

Now I really want some Starbucks…

But we all have our own particular wants and needs from our jeans.  I particularly want a pair that will last me the entire season and work with most of my wardrobe.  OH, and look fabulous.

Here is my personal opinion about jeans.  First and foremost, buy a pair of dark wash skinny jeans (or straight leg if they look better on your body type)  You can wear them with all of your shoes (flats, sandals, pumps, tall boots, and booties) and almost any top.  Also, you can treat them like leggings and wear them with tunics and some mini dresses, if that’s your style.

I buy mine from Madewell, however I also suggest LOFT, because they have all different kinds of fits for whatever your body type is.  Curvy, skinny, petite, etc.

20140921-162617.jpg

I do not usually buy “designer” jeans, because it is just so expensive and I have not taken the time to figure out which brand I like best.  I have bought a couple of pairs of Joe’s Jeans from Nordstrom Rack, and they are pretty nice. But you never really know what style you are trying on when you go to the outlets.

I also like this new style of light washed, slightly distressed, skinny jean.  I love the ones they have at Madewell, but bought a pair from LOFT because they have better sales.  Also, check out the super cute zipper detail at the ankle!  I wore these on a 12-hour travel day, and I was pretty impressed how comfortable they were and how well they held their shape.

20140921-162611.jpg

I am a lover of the ankle length skinny jean because it highlights my ankles, which makes my legs look thin. However, that style might not be the best on everyone – so if in doubt, go with regular length jeans.

As you can see I also love jeans without details on the back pocket.  It just makes for a cleaner, classier look.  It makes the jean less about the brand, and more about your… assets.

I also love a good boyfriend jean. Make sure not to buy the “slim” boyfriend jeans though, that just means tight…which just means skinny jeans. Pair it with a basic tee and a cute cropped jacket, and you will have comfortable yet stylish look. I bought these from LOFT.

20140921-162629.jpg

Finally, coated jeans.  This means the look of leather, without the leather. Many stores have these this year. I got mine from Madewell last year, but they have the same style again this year.  This is a great way to update your wardrobe for this fall season without breaking the bank! Just wear them like you would black or dark skinny jeans! Of course LOFT has them this year, and they are almost always having a sale. (Also, if you order online…. just buy enough to get free shipping, then bring back what you didn’t want)

20140921-162635.jpg

In short, I personally suggest Madewell or Loft for jeans.  LOFT especially if you have curves.  However, I have a few friends that fit really well into Gap jeans (which means you would fit really well into jeans at Old Navy or Banana Republic, since they are the same company)

ONE MORE THING: A lot of times you are going to see sizes that you do not understand.  For instance, size 27.  Do not freak out.  A lot of stores are trying to look classier these days by doing this European sizing system. I will break it down for you:

NORMAL:       WHAT?!:

0                         25

2                         26

4                         27

6                         28

8                         29

10                       30

12                       31

**Madewell does free shipping and returns on their jeans, because they know how personal shopping for jeans is. If you fit well into J. Crew jeans, you will probably like Madewell too.  LOFT has great sales. And if you want to try designer denim, go to Nordstrom Rack or Off 5th.**

Leave a Reply

