How to Wear a Dress in the Cold!

I really, REALLY tried today.  I tried to look cute in my house although I was freezing for no reason.  I, however, found myself adding more and more layers as the day went on.  I started with a cute sweatshirt dress, then added my ugg slippers, then a scarf, then I added my yoga pants, and lastly a fleece hoodie.  I basically ended up looking like the cat lady that I really am… NO ONE CAN KNOW… I must find a way to disguise my “cat-ladiness”.

I am determined that we can all look cute even when we are FREEZING.

However, until they start making house slippers that don’t make me look like the sad part in a rom-com, I will continue to make use of mine.

A lot of my friends cannot believe that I wear dresses when it is so cold outside. The thing is, I love wearing dresses so I had to figure out how to keep wearing them even in the middle of winter. The most important part in wearing a dress when you decide to weather the cold is layering, and of course a baller winter coat. You do not necessarily want to wear a long sleeve dress when you go out into the cold… your destination might be very warm inside  and you will end up getting sweatier than you thought.

I like to wear a simple tank dress and add layers:

-Cardigan

-Tights

-Wooly socks (if your feet are warm, you will be warm)

-Scarf

-Sparkly necklace

-Light to heavy jacket (or light jacket under a heavy jacket)

-Boots (tall or short depending on the weather)

-Scarf and gloves.

This way, when you end up in a place where they decided to pay extra for heat, you can just keep peeling layers until you feel comfortable.

I like to wear flouncy, chiffon dresses under structured coats.  It adds a romantic dimension to to your winter look, plus adds some excitement to your day when there is a sudden gust of wind.

20140112-155531.jpg

It definitely helps to wear a longer jacket when you wear a dress into the cold weather.  Longer jackets are also great because you can wear all sorts of sweaters underneath and they will not peek out at the bottom.

20140112-155447.jpg

Body-con dresses are great layering pieces as well.  They are great if you have loose sweaters and accessories to wear over it.  Pick one in a thick, forgiving fabric for warmth and also so it does not reveal every imperfection.  A super warm chunky scarf helps too, and this one is extremely versatile with a little sparkle.20140112-155456.jpg

Wearing control top tights helps to smooth out the bumps. (Add a skinny belt to camouflage the bump it makes at the top- if you’re like me and don’t have rock hard abs)

20140112-155435.jpg

Of course you can wear tall boots with your dress as well, I just love these booties!

So as you can see, wearing a dress in the winter is really just a formula.  Just change out the dress and small accessories, and keep almost everything else the same! (Especially the warm socks)

To find:

-Black coat, Similar

-Flouncy Chiffon Dress, Similar

Military inspired jacket

-Booties, Similar

-Scarf (handmade at niloulu, custom ordering available just email us through etsy!)

Feather Necklace

Clear Bead Statement Necklace

Body-con Dress (ON SALE!!)

One thought on “How to Wear a Dress in the Cold!

Leave a Reply

